Press Reset

press-reset

So 2017 is finally here and for a change I haven’t set plan of where I want to be by the end of the year.  I’ve decided to identify all the things I want to be, do and have without the usual annual time limit attached.

This is a personal experiment, as I’m intrigued to see whether I’ll be more committed to my Be, Do and Have list without the pressure of a deadline looming over me all year.  This is also another way of me avoiding the usual flurry of activity towards the end of the year as I attempt to achieve most of the goals I’ve set for myself within the space of three or sometimes two months.  This year I’ve decided I can do without the self-imposed hassle.  That’s also the reason why I’m considering my goals and writing this post much later in the January than I would do usually.

an-experiment

If you’re wondering why I’ve decided to switch things up and change my usual approach.  It’s all down to last year’s events  that took place in my private life and on the world stage that have left me feeling very unsettled.  Last year reminded me that we can and should not take anything for granted.  Don’t get me wrong, I still believe in planning and honestly that’s who I am and what I do best, just ask my husband. But at the same time, I thought why not? If a curve ball is out there destined to strike again, whether personally or in the wider world, why not change things up myself and see what happens.  Yes, I know, you’ve seen right through me, this is my thinly veiled attempt of my version of disaster planning!

Although, I love change and doing different things, I’m also naturally a creature of habit. This is probably due to my constant need to be as efficient as possible. This means that I approach day to day life almost like a military operation.  I can tell you how long our school journey takes in exact minutes all thanks to graduate training that’s stuck with me from almost two decades ago. So in the name of maintaining efficiency, I tend to be that ‘If it ain’t broke don’t fix it’ person.  Well, in 2017 I’m breaking it myself and I’m killing as many habits as possible, even those that have been my trusty friends because I know that from chaos comes order.

a-different-test

As I thought about the changes I could make, I started to feel a bit apprehensive. I wondered about my need to plan over spontaneity.  Hmm, I was stumped, I really couldn’t figure it out why I felt like that until I had a bright idea. I’d recently taken the free Sixteen Personalities test that took about 15 minutes to complete.  The test results provided a very interesting and detailed overview of my personality.  So I thought I’d revisit the results to see if there were any clues.  Re-reading the personality overview I was reminded about aspects of myself that I’d actually forgotten, possibly as a result of the routine of daily life.

So, apparently according to the report, I have a very rare personality type, a good one I hasten to add, which in my mind officially makes me special.  Before you think it, I know we all are special but it’s nice to have proof now and again! Anyway, it turns out that I’m driven by a strong sense of life purpose and for those with this personality trait, it’s to help others and change the world.  The report actually says that and you’ll be glad to know that it definitely does not say that I’m after world domination. I can honestly say that I’ve had a strong urge to help others in a big life changing way, since the birth of my youngest, 8 years ago, which has become much stronger, in a constant niggling sense in the last few years.  This personality trait is all well and good, only back then I had no idea where to start until recently, but more about that another time.

Other key aspects of my personality that were mentioned in the report were creativity and imagination, which I haven’t used for many years and may have something to do with the constant niggling sensation I’ve had over the years.  Funnily enough, dare I say it, I’ve felt for a while that something’s been missing, particularly at work and at times at home. Now I think it’s down to not being able to express myself creatively as I feel that my creative side has been gradually squeezed out of me as I try to manage the constant demands of family life and work commitments.  I can’t and won’t blame anyone but myself for this as I haven’t taken the time to keep my creative side alive.  I most certainly will this year.

The report also highlighted a number of other things which got me thinking. What do I really want from this year and the idea of what/who do I want to be, what do I want to do and what do I want to have seemed to be a great place to start.  I’ve realised that it’s time to fill some holes, change things up and add some spice to my life so that should another unforeseen event take place that may knock me sideways or straight between the eyes, I’ll be better prepared with my feet planted more strongly on the ground.

It turns out that the apprehension I felt and acting on it was actually a blessing. Taking the test and rediscovering things about myself was just the kick up the butt I needed to make these changes.

2017 will be the year for me to reset to remember who I am, what brings me joy and what makes me special.

What have you got in store for yourself this year?

Leave a Reply

